Research about TSI's big challenges

(Martin Hofmann) #1

Hello! I’m a geography and economics student from Mainz in Germany and researching about the big challenges of TSI, feasibility of its visions and if it’s a utopian concept.
Not only will I have a few questions to discuss in the forum but would also be very much interested in interviewing somebody via skype who’s familiar with the topics. Do you know somebody or are you the right person for me?

Thanks in advance! I’d be happy reading an answer of yours.
Best regards, Martin

Hello and welcome. There are probably utopian aspects and aspirations, but I think the majority of the members here are focuses more on practical solutions to day-to-day living and designing around just being able to live offshore in a profitable and productive self sufficient manner.

Many of us also see the necessity of doing so in an environmentally conscious, eco-friendly manner.

I lived in Gelnhausen, at Coleman Kaserne, for 2 years, across 1985, '86 and '87. I miss Germany. Almost married and stayed there. I was in the Army, then.

(Chad Elwartowski) #3

Welcome to the forum Martin.

I lived in Darmstadt last year right down the road from Mainz. I agree with Frusha, the only utopian aspects most of us are thinking about are the parts about sitting on the ocean watching the sunset every day. Other than that we understand that there will be many challenges. Though, the jews escaping Germany in WWII may have considered such a concept utopian so it’s all relative.

Most of the regulars on here can answer any question you may have, each coming at it from a different angle but we’ve all kicked around the most obvious challenges and then some.

Currently it is all theoretical so until something is actually floating we’re all just going by how we think things may go once on the water.

(.) #4

Hello Martin;

Welcome! It is good; that you are here.

Best regards;

spark

(Michael Dzsida) #5