Introduction- Productivism and Constitutional Capitalism

(Travis) #1

Hello!

My name’s Travis and I’d like to join in on the conversation here on the Seasteading forums. I am a research engineer in the chemical industry with a background in chemical engineering, and in my spare time I’ve tried to reflect much on life, business, and politics. In the past year or so, I’ve come to a moral philosophy that I call productivism, which is that the goal of life and society is the production of wealth (essentially capitalism applied to personal life and politics, not just business). I put together a website at productivist.net where I have posted much of my beliefs and ideas regarding this philosophy.

Why am I interested in Seasteading? I’ve come to the conclusion (as I’m sure many of you have) that many of the bane’s of our current political system stem from the political structure. If the game of politics is not producing desirable results, then rather than playing the game, change the rules of the game. Experimenting with new forms of governments (which in my opinion means experimenting with new social contracts and constitutions), is one of our best bets for improving our political woes.

Here are just a few controversial ideas I’ve come to believe that I’d love to debate:
• Taxes are the best basis of suffrage.
• Sovereignty (property and political rights) should rest in the production of wealth. Rights are earned by being a productive member of society. This is why we recognize the sovereignty of adult human beings and not animals, or others forms of property. This also justifies the transition of a child from being sponsored (the parents or sponsors control the life of a child) to being sovereign (the child controls their own life).