Introduction - Dubai Floating Island Project in Progress - Designer

(Kerim Tapkan) #1

Hello!

My name is Kerim Tapkan and I am a Naval Architect and Ocean Engineer.

I wanted to introduce myself to the Seasteading community for my past experience with designing and building floating structures.

You may have heard about The Heart of Europe Project at The Dubai World Islands. The project consists of 6 islands and floating structures, and currently under construction, due for 2020 as a holiday resort.

What makes it interesting is the floating structures that will be the first in the world from many ways.

I worked for the project for about 2 years as the lead designer of floating structures and Sr. Project Manager for the construction.

1- Floating Seahorses : Floating villas with underwater accommodation. 2 bedrooms underwater with 90mm thick 5mx3m acrylic windows on both sides, coral gardens attached in front of each window which gives an awesome underwater view in your bedroom. Design stage is complete and mass production of 152 villas ongoing.

2- Floating yacht club : A yacht club similar to YAcht club de Monaco in Monte Carlo, free floating. Concept design is complete, Detail design underway. Underwater restaurants, bars etc.

3- Floating Venice Island : At a size of 300m x 140m, completely free floating, with a concept design of Venice. Detail design underway. Consists of 2 levels underwater for hotel rooms, conference halls, ballrooms etc. Artificial beaches, private beaches for villas on the island, a unique and innovative design.

4- Floating gardens : Some trials been successfully done. From simple floating single Palm trees to much larger floating landscapes.