Anthropology Research

(UCI Anthropology Research) #1

Hello, I am an undergraduate anthropology student at University of California, Irvien. I would like to know what issues you would like to see researched from a social science perspective at the university. I am in the honors research program and I would like to gather as many opinions about needed research as soon as possible.

My idea is to investigate the feasibility of seasteading for climate migrants in the South Pacific. Any contributions you have will be appreciated.

(noboxes) #2

How about the changing spelling of words, and their apparent acceptance in written text. And how that affects pronunciation when people try to phonetically say the misspelled words? Like, for instance, “Irvien”.

(.) #3

Hi, welcome.
Anthropology is good. Seasteading is kind of slow.
Climate migrants, well may be. I donno yet.
I am ok where I am. I am not planning to migrate. Climate is good here.
More a political reason for more autonomy, and less regulations.
That would be the idea for me from here. I do not want to go far, just
about 12 to 200 miles from shore.
I am working on it. Will see.

(Chad Elwartowski) #4

One thing Blue Frontiers is addressing is the idea that within 50 years the sea level will rise to the point that most coastal cities will need to move inland (or move to a seastead).

This is very apparent here in Polynesia as some of the outer islands are already running into problems of salt water getting into their drinking water due to the rise in sea level.

If you look at the city Pouheva in Makemo they already dealt with this in the early 1900s when the ancient city that was well known throughout the islands had to move to higher ground because their city was constantly flooding. Now the new city is having problems due to the sea level and the mayor is hoping seasteading can provide the solution for the people of his island (atoll).